Jochen Strauch

born in 1971, was born in the Rhineland and is a trained theatre director.

His first engagements after studying, directing took him from Schauspiel Köln via Münchner Kammerspiele to Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg, where, among other things, he directed contemporary drama in Andreas Beck's authors-in-residency project, developed plays as a dramaturge with Ingrid Lausund and opened up the idea of the Junges Schauspielhaus with his first works such as "Der Junge im Bus".

From 2002 to 2010 he worked as a freelance director in German-speaking countries and in Switzerland and Italy. In 2009 he graduates in parallel in the Executive Master in Arts Administration programme at the University of Zurich and enters his first job in the management of theatres as a communication expert at the Thalia Theatre in Hamburg.

As of 2017, Jochen Strauch is working as a director again. His remits are diverse and cross-disciplinary: from classics such as "Nathan der Weise" or "Hamlet", contemporaries such as Ayad Akhtar or Lot Vekemans to children's and youth theatre and musical productions, e.g. the EU premiere production of David T. Little's "Soldier Songs", at state theatres, regional theatres and municipal theatres in German-speaking countries.

During the COVID 19 pandemic, two of his works have been transferred to digital space, the audio play with digital production book "Raus aus dem Swimmingpool, rein in mein Haifischbecken" at the Staatstheater Darmstadt and the theatre film "Niemand wartet auf Dich" at the Schauspielhaus Graz – a German-language premiere that will also bring political level and art into direct contact in town halls in Styria from November 2021.

The first works for GRIPS, "Dschabber" (Awarded the IKARUS 2019) and "#diewelle2020", which he wrote, were made pandemic-proof with COVID-19 updates.

"Pulling the Plug" is the first work after the lockdowns under new regulations that reapproaches the old proximity-distance sensibility based on complex safety precautions. On his website, he provides insight into the creation processes of some of the works in making-of blogs.

current projects

pictures

Jochen Strauch

Jahrgang 1971, ist gebürtiger Rheinländer und gelernter Theaterregisseur.

Seine ersten Engagements nach dem Regiestudium führen ihn vom Schauspiel Köln über die Münchner Kammerspiele ans Deutsche Schauspielhaus Hamburg, wo er u.a. im Autorenförderprojekt von Andreas Beck zeitgenössische Dramatik der Autoren in residency inszeniert, als Dramaturg mit Ingrid Lausund Stücke entwickelt und mit ersten Arbeiten wie „Der Junge im Bus“ die Idee vom Jungen Schauspielhaus eröffnet.

2002 bis 2010 arbeitet er freischaffend als Regisseur im deutschsprachigen Raum und in der Schweiz und in Italien. 2009 graduiert er parallel dazu im Executive Master in Arts Administration Programm an der Universität Zürich und steigt in seinen ersten Job im Management von Theatern ein als Kommunikationsexperte des Thalia Theaters in Hamburg. 

Ab 2017 arbeitet Jochen Strauch wieder als Regisseur. Seine Auftragsgebiete sind divers und spartenübergreifend: Von Klassikern wie „Nathan der Weise“ oder „Hamlet“, Zeitgenossen wie Ayad Akhtar oder Lot Vekemans bis hin zu Kinder-und Jugendtheater und musikalischen Produktionen, z.B. der EU Erstproduktion von David T. Little „Soldier Songs“, an Staatstheater, Landesbühnen und Stadttheatern im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Während der COVID-19-Pandemie werden zwei Arbeiten von ihm in den digitalen Raum übertragen, das Hörstück mit digitalem Produktionsbuch „Raus aus dem Swimmingpool, rein in mein Haifischbecken“ am Staatstheater Darmstadt und der Theaterfilm „Niemand wartet auf Dich“ am Schauspielhaus Graz - eine Deutschsprachige Erstaufführung, die ab November 2021 auch in Rathäusern der Steiermark politische Ebene und Kunst in direkten Kontakt setzt.

Die ersten Arbeiten fürs GRIPS, „Dschabber“ (Ausgezeichnet mit dem IKARUS 2019) und das von ihm geschriebene „#diewelle2020“ wurden mit COVID-19-Updates Pandemie-sicher gemacht. 

„Stecker ziehen“ ist die erste Arbeit nach den Lockdowns unter neuen Bestimmungen, die sich auf Basis komplexer Sicherheitsvorkehrungen dem alten Nähe-Distanz-Empfinden wieder annähern. Auf seiner Website (LINK www.jochenstrauch.com) gibt er über manche Arbeiten in Making-of-Blogs Einblick in die Entstehungsprozesse.

Aktuelle Projekte

Bilder