Philipp Harpain

Philipp Harpain, theatre pedagogue, project developer and director, has been artistic director since 2016 and head of GRIPS Theater since 2017. Before that, he successfully headed the theatre education department of GRIPS Theater for 14 years, which he built up and expanded into one of the largest and most prominent in Germany.

Philipp Harpain was born in Kiel in 1966 and grew up on the edge of the Teufelsmoor. As a teenager he devoted himself to political street music and theatre. After his training as a theatre pedagogue in Ulm, he worked as an actor and theatre pedagogue at the Landestheater Neustrelitz, in the Moks-Theater Bremen and Carrousel-Theater an der Parkaue as well as a director in the independent scene, before moving to GRIPS in 2003. 

He is an expert in play development, research projects, children’s and human rights, participatory formats and campaign theatre. This work has always been characterised by networking and cooperation – with schools, numerous NGOs and other partners. As a director, he conducts research at the interface between theatre and circus as well as interactive forms in children’s and youth theatre.

With the founding of the GRIPS own music label and the GRIPS Foundation, Philipp Harpain is making the theatre up-to-date and future-proof.

He runs GRIPS Theater in the tradition of a radically realistic contemporary theatre that depicts the audience’s world of life and thoughts. They are implemented with all artistic means and political expressiveness. With keen eyes he searches for new materials in Berlin that are close to the audience. In the process, he develops ideas and exciting forms for the stage in direct contact with the children and young people, as well as with the house itself. His targeted support for authors and projects as well as the development of numerous world premieres by his ensemble under remarkable directors not only keep the programme of GRIPS Theater up to date, but also make GRIPS an inspiring, internationally networked place for children and youth theatre with an enthusiastic audience of all ages.

pictures

Philipp Harpain

Philipp Harpain, Theaterpädagoge, Projektentwickler und Regisseur, ist seit 2016 künstlerischer Leiter und seit 2017 der Leiter des GRIPS Theaters. Zuvor leitete er 14 Jahre erfolgreich die theaterpädagogische Abteilung des GRIPS Theaters, die er zu einer der größten und profiliertesten Deutschlands auf-­ und ausgebaut hat.

Philipp Harpain wurde 1966 in Kiel geboren und wuchs am Rande des Teufelsmoors auf. Schon als Jugendlicher widmete er sich der politischen Straßenmusik und dem Theater. Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Theaterpädagogen in Ulm arbeitete er als Schauspieler und Theaterpädagoge am Landestheater Neustrelitz, im Moks-Theater Bremen und Carrousel-Theater an der Parkaue sowie als Regisseur in der Freien Szene, bevor er 2003 ans GRIPS wechselte. 

Er gilt als Experte für Stückentwicklungen, Rechercheprojekte, Kinder- und Menschenrechte, partizipative Formate und Kampagnentheater. Diese Arbeit war von jeher geprägt durch Vernetzung und Kooperation – mit Schulen, zahlreichen NGOs und weiteren Partnern. In Produktionen forscht er als Regisseur an der Schnittstelle von Theater & Zirkus sowie interaktiven Formen im Kinder- und Jugendtheaters.

Mit der Gründung des GRIPS eigenen Musiklabels und der GRIPS Stiftung stellt Philipp Harpain das Theater zeitgemäß und zukunftsfähig auf.

Das GRIPS Theater führt er in der Tradition eines radikal realistisches Gegenwartstheater, das die Lebens- und Gedankenwelt des Publikums abbildet. Umgesetzt werden sie mit allen künstlerischen Mitteln und politischer Aussagekraft. Er sucht mit wachen Augen in Berlin nach neuen Stoffen, die nah am Publikum sind. Dabei entwickelt er im direkten Kontakt mit den Kindern und Jugendlichen, sowie mit dem Haus selber im Prozess Ideen und spannende Formen für die Bühne. Seine gezielte Förderung von Autor*innen und Projekten sowie die Erarbeitung zahlreicher Uraufführungen von seinem Ensemble unter bemerkenswerten Regien führt nicht nur zur Aktualität des Spielplans des GRIPS Theaters, sondern macht dadurch das GRIPS zu einem impulsgebenden international vernetzten Ort für das Kinder- und Jugendtheater mit begeistertem Publikum jeden Alters. 

Bilder