Johannes Gehlmann

Born in Berlin, he began his career as a professional musician in 1984, while still studying to be a sound engineer at what is now Berlin University of the Arts, with his first engagements at the GRIPS Theatre and in various Berlin bands.

Concerts and tours followed with artists such as Marianne Rosenberg, Ina Deter, Gunter Gabriel, Sharon Brauner, Rolf Kühn, Jochen Kowalski and the former Police drummer Stewart Copeland, as well as CD productions with Klaus Hoffmann, Reinhard Mey, Nena, Mary, Katharine Mehrling and Mark Scheibe, among others. In the meantime, he has a long-standing collaboration (tours, festivals and CD productions) with the Argentinian singer Lily Dahab.

Jo is also a frequent guest with the Babelsberg Film Orchestra and a long-standing lecturer at the International Youth Big Band Workshop in Neubrandenburg.

At the GRIPS Theatre he writes the music for "Jule, was ist los?" and participates as a guitarist (and sometimes as a keyboardist) in numerous plays.

Other theatre engagements have taken him to the Operettenhaus in Hamburg, the Neuköllner Oper Berlin (many premieres since 2006), the Admiralspalast in Berlin, the Renaissance Theatre, the Theater am Kurfürstendamm and the Hans Otto Theatre in Potsdam. Jo also performs in major musical productions, including at the Theater des Westens, the Theater am Potsdamer Platz and the Theater Magdeburg.

current projects

Johannes Gehlmann

Der gebürtige Berliner startet 1984, noch während seines Tonmeister-Studiums an der heutigen Universität der Künste Berlin, seine Karriere als Profimusiker mit ersten Engagements am GRIPS Theater und in diversen Berliner Bands.

Es folgen Konzerte und Tourneen mit Künstlern wie Marianne Rosenberg, Ina Deter, Gunter Gabriel, Sharon Brauner, Rolf Kühn, Jochen Kowalski und dem ehemaligen Police-Schlagzeuger Stewart Copelandsowie CD-Produktionen u. a. mit Klaus Hoffmann, Reinhard Mey, Nena, Mary, Katharine Mehrling und Mark Scheibe. Inzwischen verbindet ihn eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit (Tourneen, Festivals und CD-Produktionen) mit der argentinischen Sängerin Lily Dahab.

Jo ist zudem häufiger Gast beim Filmorchester Babelsberg und langjähriger Dozent beim Internationalen Jugend Bigband-Workshop in Neubrandenburg.

Am GRIPS Theater scheibt er die Musik zu „Jule, was ist los?“ und wirkt als Gitarrist (und manchmal auch als Keyboarder) in zahlreichen Stücken mit.

Weitere Theaterengagements führen ihn an das Operettenhaus in Hamburg, die Neuköllner Oper Berlin (viele UA seit 2006), den Berliner Admiralspalast, das Renaissance-Theater, das Theater am Kurfürstendamm und das Hans Otto Theater in Potsdam. Zudem spielt Jo in großen Musical-Produktionen, u.  a. am Theater des Westens, am Theater am Potsdamer Platz und am Theater Magdeburg.

Aktuelle Projekte