GRIPS Profile

GRIPS is the “emancipatory theatre” that deals critically with the lives of children and young people.

Children and young people are curious and enjoy independent thinking, feeling, developing perspectives and creating! GRIPS stands for this kind of thinking, literally “having fun thinking”.

Founded in 1969 by Volker Ludwig, the children’s and youth theatre has been called GRIPS since 1972. Along with the name, the theatre also got the logo in the same year: A shapeless person who peers out of the box with curious eyes. Independent thinking, being curious and asking questions are still essential aspects that GRIPS Theater promotes with its theatre work among young audiences. It shows perspectives to understand the world and conditions as changeable. GRIPS Theater, under the direction of Philipp Harpain, is an open house for people of all ages. It is a impulse providing, locally and internationally networked place for children’s and youth theatre, which follows the tradition of realistic, emancipatory contemporary theatre. On stage and through its work it advocates the fundamental rights of children and young people.

Questions about productions relevant to the programme and any new engagements of ensemble members are not just a decision of the artistic director, but rather are mostly decided according to a co-determination model made up of twelve employees.

The programme is mainly characterised by premieres: Contemporary authors develop plays for a young audience, mostly on behalf of the theatre and together with the dramaturgy of the house. In addition, GRIPS Theater campaigns for the targeted promotion of up-and-coming authors for children’s and youth theatre in the form of tenders and competitions. Current, socio-political or unique, touching stories are taken up in research, so that experiences, motifs and perspectives from the specific world of young audiences can be found in the plays. Exciting theatre experiences arise from the most varied of perspectives, which concern children and young people and which depict the diversity of our society today. Theatre that encourages.

The focus of all theatre work is a thirteen-member ensemble and a large network of artists: Actors, musicians, directors, authors, stage and costume designers, choreographers, video artists and many others. The extraordinary joy of performing in the ensemble, which stands behind work and materials with great commitment, is almost always carried over to the young audience. Music often plays a major role in the productions – songs and compositions are specially developed for the individual productions. The musical dramaturgy provides impulses again and again and accompanies the musical development of the house. With all these artists working together, GRIPS Theater creates five to six productions for young audiences a year. Together with the productions of the children’s club Rakete Jetzt!, the youth club Banda Agita and the Researchers, that means up to nine premieres per season.

In order to reach children and young people from all over the city, GRIPS Theater is well networked with its programs and diverse partnerships. It maintains close relationships with teachers, trainee teachers, social workers, doctors, NGOs and many children and young people themselves. GRIPS classes, Tuki and fanfare partnerships as well as more than 30 school partnerships by means of GRIPS Fever give the young audience long-term access to cultural education.

In one of the largest theatre education departments in Germany, the offer ranges from intensive accompaniment of the play development process by children and young people, through a training area for educators, to political participation projects and artistic theatre work with children, young people and young adults in the clubs.

The direct contact and exchange of GRIPS Theater with children, young people, educators and civil society actors is particularly important in all of these projects.

With the establishment of GRIPS’ own music label GRIPS Records and the GRIPS Foundation by Theatre director Philipp Harpain and Managing director Andreas Joppich, the theatre is up-to-date and future-proof. 

And no matter how often you get angry about Berlin: When you step out of the darkness of the auditorium onto the ugly Hansaplatz, you are reconciled with the city – after all, GRIPS Theater is there!
Zitty

GRIPS Profil

GRIPS ist das "emanzipatorische Theater", das sich gesellschaftskritisch mit dem Leben von Kindern und Jugendlichen auseinandersetzt.

Kinder und Jugendliche sind neugierig, haben Lust am eigenständigen Denken, Fühlen, Perspektiven entwickeln und Gestalten! GRIPS steht für eben dieses Denken, wörtlich „mit Spaß denken“.

1969 von Volker Ludwig gegründet, heißt das Kinder- und Jugendtheater seit 1972 GRIPS. Mit dem Namen bekommt das Theater im selben Jahr auch das Logo: Einen Eumel, der mit neugierigen Augen aus der Kiste lugt. Eigenständiges Denken, neugierig sein und Fragen stellen sind bis heute wesentliche Aspekte, die das GRIPS Theater mit seiner Theaterarbeit beim jungen Publikum fördert. Es zeigt Perspektiven auf, die Welt und Verhältnisse als veränderbar zu begreifen. Das GRIPS Theater ist unter der Leitung von Philipp Harpain ein offenes Haus für Menschen jeden Alters. Es ist ein impulsgebender, lokal und international vernetzter Ort für das Kinder- und Jugendtheater, das in der Tradition eines realistischen, emanzipatorischen Gegenwartstheaters steht. Es setzt sich auf der Bühne und mit seiner Arbeit für die Grundrechte von Kindern und Jugendlichen ein.

Fragen über spielplanrelevante Inszenierungen und auch etwaige Neu-Engagements von Ensemblemitgliedern sind nicht allein Entscheidung der künstlerischen Leitung, sondern werden mehrheitlich nach einem Mitbestimmungsmodell, zusammengesetzt aus zwölf Mitarbeitenden, beschlossen.

Den Spielplan prägen vor allem Uraufführungen: Zeitgenössische Autor*innen entwickeln – zumeist im Auftrag des Theaters und gemeinsam mit der Dramaturgie des Hauses – Stücke für ein junges Publikum. Darüber hinaus setzt sich das GRIPS Theater in Form von Ausschreibungen und Wettbewerben für die gezielte Förderung von Nachwuchsautor*innen für das Kinder- und Jugendtheater ein. In Recherchen werden aktuelle, sozial-politische oder auch einzigartige, berührende Geschichten aufgegriffen, so dass sich Erfahrungen, Motive und Perspektiven aus der konkreten Lebenswelt der jungen Zuschauer*innen in den Stücken wiederfinden. Es entstehen aufregende Theatererlebnisse aus unterschiedlichsten Perspektiven, die Kinder und Jugendliche angehen und die die Diversität unserer heutigen Gesellschaft abbilden. Theater, das Mut macht.

Im Mittelpunkt aller Theaterarbeit steht ein dreizehnköpfiges Ensemble und ein großes Netzwerk von Künstler*innen: Schauspielgästen, Musiker*innen, Regisseur*innen, Autor*innen, Bühnen- und Kostümbildner*innen, Choreograf*innen, Videokünstler*innen und vielen anderen mehr. Die außerordentliche Spielfreude des Ensembles, das mit großem Engagement hinter Arbeit und Stoffen steht, überträgt sich fast immer auf das junge Publikum. Häufig spielt Musik in den Inszenierungen eine tragende Rolle – Lieder und Kompositionen werden eigens für die einzelnen Inszenierungen entwickelt. Die Musikdramaturgie sorgt dabei immer wieder für Impulse und begleitet übergeordnet die musikalische Entwicklung des Hauses. Im Zusammenspiel all dieser Künstler*innen entstehen am GRIPS Theater fünf bis sechs Produktionen für junges Publikum im Jahr. Zusammen mit den Inszenierungen des Kinderclubs Rakete jetzt!, des Jugendclubs Banda Agita und den Forscher*innen sind das bis zu neun Premieren pro Spielzeit.

Um Kinder und Jugendliche aus der ganzen Stadt zu erreichen, ist das GRIPS Theater mit seinen Programmen sowie vielfältigen Partnerschaften weit hinein in diese vernetzt. Es hält enge Beziehungen zu Lehrer*innen, Referendar*innen, Sozialarbeiter*innen, Ärzt*innen, NGO`s und vielen Kindern und Jugendlichen selbst. GRIPS Klassen, Tuki- und Tuschpartnerschaften sowie mehr als 30 Schulpartnerschaften durch GRIPS Fieber ermöglichen dem jungen Publikum den langfristigen Zugang zur kulturellen Bildung.

In einer der bundesweit größten theaterpädagogischen Abteilungen reicht das Angebot von der intensiven Begleitung des Stückentwicklungsprozesses durch Kinder und Jugendliche, über einen Fortbildungsbereich für Pädagog*innen bis hin zu politischen Partizipationsprojekten und der künstlerischen Theaterarbeit mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen in den Clubs. 
Der direkte Kontakt und Austausch des GRIPS Theaters mit Kindern, Jugendlichen, Pädagog*innen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteur*innen ist in all diesen Projekten besonders wichtig. 

Mit der Gründung des GRIPS eigenen Musiklabels grips-records sowie der GRIPS Stiftung durch den Theaterleiter Philipp Harpain und Geschäftsführer Andreas Joppich ist das Theater zeitgemäß und zukunftsfähig aufgestellt.

Und wenn man sich noch so oft über Berlin ärgert: Tritt man aus dem Dunkel des Zuschauerraums auf den hässlichen Hansaplatz, ist man mit der Stadt versöhnt – schließlich gibt es das GRIPS Theater!
Zitty